Governor Asks For Public Assistance For 17 Counties - - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - |

Governor Asks For Public Assistance For 17 Counties

Posted: Updated:
Mayes County flooding [photo: SKYNEWS 6] Mayes County flooding [photo: SKYNEWS 6]
Associated Press

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Gov. Brad Henry has asked President Barack Obama for public assistance for 17 Oklahoma counties affected by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding between April 25 and May 16.

Henry made the request Thursday.

If approved, the designation would allow federal funding for cities, towns and counties with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with the storms. State emergency management officials say the storms caused an estimated $5.2 million in damages in the 17 counties.

The counties included are Alfalfa, Cherokee, Choctaw, Craig, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Grant, Jefferson, Love, Major, Mayes, Nowata, Rogers, Tillman, Wagoner and Woods.

More counties can be added to the request as additional information becomes available.

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.