Tulsa Mayor Dewey Bartlett Sworn In Monday - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

Tulsa Mayor Dewey Bartlett Sworn In

Posted: Updated:
Dewey Bartlett was sworn in as Tulsa Mayor in the new Tulsa ballroom at the Convention Center. Dewey Bartlett was sworn in as Tulsa Mayor in the new Tulsa ballroom at the Convention Center.
New city auditor Preston Doeflinger was sworn in. New city auditor Preston Doeflinger was sworn in.
Nine members of the new city council were also sworn in. Nine members of the new city council were also sworn in.

By Emory Bryan, The News On 6

TULSA, OK -- City government changed hands in Tulsa on Monday with a new mayor taking office. 

Tulsa inaugurated its 39th mayor. Republican Dewey Bartlett Jr. took the oath. He's the son of a former governor and U.S. Senator and he is an oil man and former city councilor. 

Bartlett's mother was there to see it, along with dozens of current and former elected officials. 

Mayor Bartlett praised Kathy Taylor for her leadership and promised to build on her efforts to run city hall more like a business.

With a one minute recitation of the oath of office, Dewey Bartlett became mayor. 

Several hundred people watched in the new ballroom of the Tulsa Convention Center. 

Bartlett made no groundbreaking promises in his speech, instead repeating the themes of job creation and smaller government.

"Boy I tell you it's exciting, a little nervous, but glad the day is here, and now we're in charge, and we've got to perform," said Mayor Dewey Bartlett, Tulsa.

Besides the mayor, new city auditor Preston Doeflinger was sworn in, along with the nine members of the new city council.

12/1/2009  Related Story: Tulsa Inauguration Ceremony Plans Announced

City Councilors: Jack Henderson (District 1), Rick Westcott (District 2), Roscoe Turner (District 3), Maria Barnes (District 4), Chris Trail (District 5), James Mautino (District 6), John Eagleton (District 7), Bill Christiansen (District 8), and G.T. Bynum (District 9)

All but one have served on the council before.

"The other councilors have been awesome about getting with me and getting me oriented and showing me the ropes," said Chris Trail, Tulsa City Council.

The new council elected Rick Westcott as chairman.

"And I'm confident that this group of men and women will do well, can work well together, and we will move Tulsa forward," said Rick Westcott, Tulsa City Council.

The veteran of the group is city councilor Roscoe Turner, who starts his fifth term.

"I think we can get some things done that will make this city grow," said Roscoe Turner, Tulsa City Councilor.

The first meeting of the 2009-2011 Tulsa City Council was held immediately after the ceremonies in the Greenwood Room, located west of the Tulsa Ballroom inside the Convention Center.

With Tulsa's new mayor taking the oath of office, Monday marks the last day on the job for Mayor Kathy Taylor. Taylor was on Six in the Morning to reflect on the legacy she will leave behind.

"I think revitalizing, really getting working on what Mayor LaFortune had begun, in completing the revitalization of downtown and the convention center is my favorite," said Mayor Kathy Taylor. "I did it from beginning to end, every chair, wall covering and carpet square, I had a hand in."

Watch the complete interview with Mayor Kathy Taylor.

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.