OU's Gerald McCoy Named Lott Trophy Quarterfinalist - - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

OU's Gerald McCoy Named Lott Trophy Quarterfinalist

OU defensive tackle Gerald McCoy (93) rushes Texas quarterback Colt McCoy (12). Gerald McCoy was announced as a semifinalist for the Lott Trophy Tuesday. OU defensive tackle Gerald McCoy (93) rushes Texas quarterback Colt McCoy (12). Gerald McCoy was announced as a semifinalist for the Lott Trophy Tuesday.

Originally Published: Oct 20, 2009 12:15 PM CDT

Corey DeMoss
Oklahoma Sports Staff Writer

NORMAN, Oklahoma – OU defensive tackle Gerald McCoy is one of 20 semifinalists for the Lott Trophy announced Tuesday.

The Lott Trophy is given annually to a defensive player who shows dominance on the field as well as community leadership off the field. Now in its sixth year, the Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize an athlete’s performance and character.

McCoy has been active in several causes and is a frequent public speaker. He is also an All-American candidate and was named a Rotary Lombardi Award semifinalist last week. He leads the OU defense – ranked in the top five in the nation in five different statistical categories – with 9.5 tackles for loss.

“He’s incredibly talented, to start with,” said OU head coach Bob Stoops. “The guy’s size, quickness and tenacity; he and Adian [Taylor] played 89 snaps the other day and at a high level. That’s hard to do. Their conditioning and toughness is really special.”

The Lott Trophy, named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, is sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation. IMPACT stands for the five characteristics upon which the Lott Trophy is awarded: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

“[McCoy is] an unbelievable worker. The guy is upbeat and positive every day, he’s a special guy,” Stoops said. “He’s got an incredible attitude and work ethic to go on top of that talent.”

Voters for the Lott Trophy include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the IMPACT Foundation, the IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors comprised of retired NFL players and the Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former college head coaches.

McCoy is one of six members of the Big 12 nominated for the Lott Trophy, the most of any conference.

The 20 Lott Trophy Quarterfinalists

Gerald McCoy – Defensive tackle (Oklahoma)*
Sam Acho – Defensive end (Texas)*
Ndamukong Suh – Defensive tackle (Nebraska)*
Jerry Hughes – Defensive end (TCU)
Brian Price – Defensive tackle (UCLA)
Joe Pawelek – Linebacker (Baylor)*
Pat Angerer – Linebacker (Iowa)
Greg Jones – Linebacker (Mighigan State)
Rolando McClain – Linebacker (Alabama)
Brandon Spikes – Linebacker (Florida)
Sean Weatherspoon – Linebacker (Missouri)*
Mike Nixon – Linebacker (Arizona State)
Eric Norwood – Linebacker (South Carolina)
Kyle Wilson – Cornerback (Boise State)
Alterraun Verner – Cornerback (UCLA)
Trevard Lindley – Cornerback (Kentucky)
Kurt Coleman – Cornerback (Ohio State)
Eric Berry – Safety (Tennessee)
Darrel Stuckey – Safety (Kansas)*
Taylor Mays – Safety (USC)

*- Members of the Big 12 Conference

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.