Oklahoma Coaches Name Players of the Year- Oklahoma Sports - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

Oklahoma Coaches Name Players of the Year

Class A/B Regional Scores and Pairings Class A/B Regional Scores and Pairings

Originally Published: Apr 4, 2011 11:25 AM CDT

Oklahoma Sports Staff
OKLAHOMA CITY—The Oklahoma Basketball Coaches Association has named the 2011 boys basketball players of the year.

The association selected one player from each class across the state of Oklahoma and also named its state player of the year and coach of the year as well.

Bridge Creek’s Ryan Spangler was honored with the State Player of the Year award after he also received the Gatorade Player of the year award for the state of Oklahoma.

Talihina’s Chris Gillespie was named the Coach of the Year for the state after leading the Golden Tigers to its first State Championship title with a 42-27 win over Preston. Talihina finished the season on a 20-game winning streak with an overall record of 27-2.

Below are the players of the year award winners listed by class.
6A: Obi Emegano, Edmond Memorial
5A: Devonte Moore, El Reno
4A: Ryan Spangler, Bridge Creek
3A: Clay Wilson, Lincoln Christian
2A: Taggart Lockhart, Talihina
A: Gavan Steinmetz, Fort Cobb-Broxton
B: Rhett Radcliff, Forgan

State Player of the Year:
Ryan Spangler, Bridge Creek

Coach of the Year
Chris Gillespie, Talihina

Spangler Named Gatorade Player of the Year
Talihina Drops Preston to Claim First Basketball Gold Ball

OBCA All-District Teams

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.