Cowboys And Sooners Each Land Four On All-Big 12 First-Team - - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - |


Cowboys And Sooners Each Land Four On All-Big 12 First-Team

Posted: Updated:

The All-Big 12 Conference football teams and individual award winners have been announced. Selections are made by the league's 10 head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

All-Big 12 Honors Notebook:

• Bryce Petty is the second Baylor quarterback in the last three seasons to be named Offensive Player of the Year (Robert Griffin III, 2011).

• Co-Defensive Players of the Year were also selected in 2011. Jackson Jeffcoat is the fourth Texas player to win the award while Verrett is the first from TCU and picked up the Horned Frogs' second individual honor since joining the Conference in 2012.

• Charles Sims is West Virginia's second individual award winner since becoming a Big 12 member in 2012.

• Isaiah Johnson is the first Jayhawk to earn Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

• Art Briles is the first Baylor mentor to be named Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year.

• Texas Tech picked up its third Offensive Freshman of the Year honor while Oklahoma claimed Defensive Freshman of the Year for the fifth season.

• Tyler Lockett is the second Wildcat wide receiver to be selected Special Teams Player of the Year (Brandon Banks, 2009)

• Baylor's Cyril Richardson was named Offensive Lineman of the Year for the second consecutive season.

• K-State earned its second straight Defensive Lineman of the Year honor (Meshak Williams, 2012).

• Oklahoma has won the most individual awards in the 18-year history of the Big 12 with 28. K-State is second (25), followed by Texas (24), Oklahoma State (15), Baylor (9), Texas Tech (8), Iowa State (8), Kansas (7), TCU (2) and West Virginia (2).


Offensive Player of the Year - Bryce Petty (Baylor, QB)

Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Jason Verrett (TCU, DB); Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas, DE)

Offensive Newcomer of the Year - Charles Sims (West Virginia, RB)

Offensive Lineman of the Year - Cyril Richardson (Baylor, OL)

Defensive Newcomer of the Year - Isaiah Johnson (Kansas, DB)

Defensive Lineman of the Year - Ryan Mueller (Kansas State, DE)

Offensive Freshman of the Year - Baker Mayfield (Texas Tech, QB)

Special Teams Players of the Year - Tyler Lockett (Kansas State, PR/KR)

Defensive Freshman of the Year - Dominique Alexander (Oklahoma, LB)

Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year - Art Briles (Baylor, 6th Season)



QB Bryce Petty, Baylor

RB Lache Seastrunk, Baylor

RB Charles Sims, West Virginia

FB Trey Millard, # Oklahoma

WR Antwan Goodley, Baylor

WR Tevin Reese, Baylor Sr.

WR Tyler Lockett, K-State

TE Jace Amaro,** % Texas Tech

OL Spencer Drango, Baylor

OL Cyril Richardson, # Baylor

OL B.J. Finney, K-State

OL Gabe Ikard,** # Oklahoma

OL Parker Graham, Oklahoma State

PK Anthony Fera, Texas

KR/PR Tyler Lockett, K-State



DL Chris McAllister, Baylor

DL Ryan Mueller, K-State

DL Charles Tapper, Oklahoma

DL Calvin Barnett, # Oklahoma State

DL Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

LB Eddie Lackey, Baylor

LB Jeremiah George, Iowa State

LB Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State

DB Ahmad Dixon, Baylor

DB Ty Zimmerman, # K-State

DB Aaron Colvin, # Oklahoma

DB Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State

DB Jason Verrett, # TCU

P Spencer Roth, Baylor




QB Clint Chelf, Oklahoma State

RB James Sims, ^ Kansas

RB Malcolm Brown, Texas

FB Kye Staley, ^ Oklahoma State

WR Jalen Saunders, Oklahoma

WR Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State

WR Jaxon Shipley, Texas

TE EJ Bibbs Iowa, State

OL Cody Whitehair, K-State

OL Daryl Williams, Oklahoma

OL Donald Hawkins, Texas

OL Trey Hopkins, ^ Texas

OL Le'Raven Clark, Texas Tech

PK Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma

KR/PR Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State



DL Tyler Johnson, Oklahoma State

DL Chucky Hunter, ^ TCU

DL Cedric Reed, Texas

DL Kerry Hyder, ^ Texas Tech

DL Will Clarke, West Virginia

LB Ben Heeney, ^ Kansas

LB Eric Striker, Oklahoma

LB Caleb Lavey, Oklahoma State

DB Jacques Washington, Iowa State

DB Daytawion Lowe, Oklahoma State

DB Sam Carter, ^ TCU

DB Carrington Byndom, Texas

DB Darwin Cook, West Virginia

P Kirby Van Der Kamp, ^ Iowa State

P Nick O'Toole, West Virginia


**Unanimous Selection.

# - Repeat first team selection from last season.

^ - Repeat second team selection from last season.

% - Second Team selection in 2012.

A tie in voting created an additional second-team punter spot.

Players listed at each position alphabetically by school.


Baylor: Demetri Goodson (DB), Bryce Hager (LB), Stefan Huber (OL), Aaron Jones (PK), Eddie Lackey (Def. PoY), Shock Linwood (Off. FoY), KJ Morton (DB), Jordan Najvar (TE), Levi Norwood (KR/PR, WR), Shawn Oakman (DL, Def. NoY), Kelvin Palmer (OL)

Iowa State: EJ Bibbs (Off. NoY), Daniel Burton (Off. FoY), Tom Farniok (OL), Jeremiah George (Def. PoY), Cory Morrissey (DL), Nigel Tribune (Def. FoY)

Kansas: Ngalu Fusimalohi (OL), Isaiah Johnson (DB), Dexter McDonald (DB), Jimmay Mundine (TE), Trevor Pardula (P, ST PoY), JaCorey Shepherd (KR/PR, DB), James Sims (Off. PoY)

K-State: Travis Britz (DL), Glenn Gronkowski (FB), John Hubert (RB), Tyler Lockett (Off. PoY), Cornelius Lucas (OL), Tavon Rooks (OL), Daniel Sams (QB), Blake Slaughter (LB), Tremaine Thompson (KR/PR), Ty Zimmermam (Def. PoY)

Oklahoma: Gabe Ikard (Off. LoY), Gabe Lynn (DB), Frank Shannon (LB), Bob Stoops (CoY)

Oklahoma State: Calvin Barnett (Def. LoY), James Castleman (DL), Justin Gilbert (KR/PR, ST PoY), Parker Graham (Off. LoY), Tracy Moore (WR), Emmanuel Ogbah (DL, Def. FoY), Josh Stewart (ST PoY), Brandon Webb (OL), Sam Wren (Def. NoY)

TCU: B.J. Catalon (KR/PR), Jaden Oberkrom (PK), Kevin White (DB)

Texas: Mack Brown (CoY), Mike Davis (WR), Quandre Diggs (DB), Steve Edmond (LB), Dominic Espinosa (OL), Anthony Fera (ST PoY), Jackson Jeffcoat (Def. LoY), Adrian Phillips (DB), Geoff Swaim (TE), Alex De La Torre (FB), Mason Walters (OL), Chris Whaley (DL)

Texas Tech: Ryan Bustin (PK), Ryan Erxleben (P), Jakeem Grant (WR), Bradley Marquez (WR), Baker Mayfield (QB), Tre' Porter (DB), Pete Robertson (LB), Will Smith (LB), Eric Ward (WR)

West Virginia: Cody Clay (FB), Curtis Feigt (OL), Karl Joseph (DB), Nick Kwiatkoski (LB), Quinton Spain (OL)

Live Radar

ESP Interactive

Featured on

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • OSU Cowboys

    Get all your OSU Cowboys information from sports highlights to the latest news & videos.

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

  • Barons

    Learn more about the Barons with the latest team news, schedule & more.

  • Redhawks

    Cheer on the Redhawks Get your tickets and team information today.

Powered by WorldNow
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Oklahoma's Own is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state including Tulsa's Own and Green Country's Own.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and KOTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.