American Athletic Conference Releases Composite Football Schedul - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

American Athletic Conference Releases Composite Football Schedule

Posted: Updated:
PROVIDENCE, Rhode Island -

The race for the 2014 American Athletic Conference football title will begin Aug. 30 and will culminate in four games as part of Championship Week as the league's 11 schools battle for the league crown and a College Football Playoff berth.

Commissioner Mike Aresco announced the complete 44-game conference schedule Tuesday as The American looks to build upon a highly successful first season, which was capped by UCF's win against Baylor in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

The 2014 season begins for American Athletic Conference teams Thursday, Aug. 28, and continues through three nationally televised games that will be part of Championship Saturday Dec. 6. The 44-game conference schedule kicks off Aug. 30, when Tulane visits Tulsa in the first American Athletic Conference game for both schools.

The 2014 season is the first under The American's new television contract, which provides for 80 percent of conference-controlled games on national television platforms, including ABC, ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPNews and CBS Sports Network.

Highlights of the 2014 schedule include an intriguing series of Thursday and Friday games on either ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU as well as a number of exciting nonconference games that will pair American Athletic Conference teams against the nation's top programs. UCF, which went 12-1 and finished the 2013 season ranked No. 10 nationally, opens its season against Penn State Aug. 30 on ESPN2, in a game that will be played in Dublin, Ireland. Tulsa will host Oklahoma on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2 Sept. 6.

The nonconference schedule includes games against nine teams ranked in the top 25 of last year's USA Today Coaches' Poll, including games against No. 5 Missouri, No. 6 Oklahoma, No. 10 Ohio State, No. 13 Baylor, No. 16 UCLA, No. 18 Texas A&M, No.21 Wisconsin, No. 22 Duke and No. 23 Vanderbilt.

Additionally, The American previously announced three games for member institutions against Brigham Young – all on ESPN – as UConn opens its season against the Cougars Aug. 29 from Rentschler Field, Houston visits BYU Sept. 11, and UCF hosts the Cougars Oct. 9 at Bright House Networks Stadium.

The Championship Week matchups begin with UCF at East Carolina Thursday, Dec. 4, in a battle of teams that won at least 10 games last year. The three games Saturday, Dec. 6 include Houston at Cincinnati, Temple at Tulane and SMU at UConn.

The first year of the American Athletic Conference saw the league place two teams in the top 15 of the final AP and USA Today polls, while the league was one of just three conferences to produce two 12-win teams, joining the Big Ten and the SEC.

Kickoff times and television designations for the first three weeks of the season will be made final in June, while the rest of the schedule will fall under the 12-day and six-day selection processes.

 

Thursday, August 28
Temple at Vanderbilt (SEC Network)
 
Friday, August 29
Brigham Young at UConn * (8 p.m., ESPN)
 
Saturday, August 30
UCF vs. Penn State 1 (8:30 a.m., ESPN2)
North Carolina Central at East Carolina
Texas-San Antonio at Houston
Austin Peay at Memphis
Western Carolina at USF
Tulane at Tulsa *
 
Sunday, August 31
SMU at Baylor
 
Saturday, September 6
Stony Brook at UConn
East Carolina at South Carolina
Grambling at Houston
Memphis at UCLA
SMU at North Texas
Maryland at USF
Navy at Temple
Georgia Tech at Tulane
Oklahoma at Tulsa (ABC/ESPN/ESPN2)
 
Thursday, September 11
Houston at Brigham Young (ESPN)
 
Friday, September 12
Toledo at Cincinnati (7 p.m., ESPNU)
 
Saturday, September 13
UCF at Missouri
Boise State at UConn
East Carolina at Virginia Tech
North Carolina State at USF
Southeastern Louisiana at Tulane
Tulsa at Florida Atlantic
 
Friday, September 19
UConn at USF * (ESPN/ESPN2)
 
Saturday, September 20
Bethune-Cookman at UCF
Miami (Ohio) at Cincinnati
North Carolina at East Carolina
Middle Tennessee at Memphis
Texas A&M at SMU
Delaware State at Temple
Tulane at Duke
 
Saturday, September 27
Cincinnati at Ohio State
Temple at UConn *
Memphis at Mississippi
TCU at SMU
USF at Wisconsin
Tulane at Rutgers
Texas State at Tulsa

Thursday, October 2
UCF at Houston * (ESPN)

Saturday, October 4
Memphis at Cincinnati *
SMU at East Carolina *
Tulsa at Colorado State
 
Thursday, October 9
Brigham Young at UCF (ESPN)

Saturday, October 11
Cincinnati at Miami (Fla.)
UConn at Tulane *
East Carolina at USF *
Houston at Memphis *
Tulsa at Temple *
 
Saturday, October 18
Tulane at UCF *
Cincinnati at SMU *
Temple at Houston *
USF at Tulsa *
 
Thursday, October 23
UConn at East Carolina * (ESPNU)
 
Friday, October 24
USF at Cincinnati * (ESPN/ESPN2)
 
Saturday, October 25
Temple at UCF *
Memphis at SMU *
 
Friday, October 31
Cincinnati at Tulane * (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Tulsa at Memphis * (ESPN2/ESPNU)
 
Saturday, November 1
UCF at UConn *
East Carolina at Temple *
Houston at USF *
 
Saturday, November 8
UConn at Army 2 (CBSSN)
Tulane at Houston *
Memphis at Temple *
SMU at Tulsa *
 
Friday, November 14
Tulsa at UCF * (ESPN2)
 
Saturday, November 15
East Carolina at Cincinnati *
Memphis at Tulane *
USF at SMU *
Temple at Penn State
 
Saturday, November 22
SMU at UCF *
Cincinnati at UConn *
Tulane at East Carolina *
Tulsa at Houston *
USF at Memphis *

Friday, November 28
UCF at USF *
East Carolina at Tulsa *
Houston at SMU *
 
Saturday, November 29
Cincinnati at Temple *
UConn at Memphis *
 
Thursday, December 4
UCF at East Carolina * (ESPN)
 
Saturday, December 6
Houston at Cincinnati *
SMU at UConn *
Temple at Tulane *

* American Athletic Conference game
1 Croke Park Classic, Dublin, Ireland
2 Yankee Stadium, Bronx, N.Y.
 
All times Eastern; all dates and times subject to change
 
Additional television listings will be announced as they become available

 

2014 American Athletic Conference Team-By-Team Football Schedules

UCF
Sat., Aug. 30    vs. Penn State 1 (8:30 a.m., ESPN2)
Sat., Sept. 13   at Missouri
Sat., Sept. 20   Bethune-Cookman
Thu., Oct. 2     at Houston * (ESPN)
Thu., Oct. 9     Brigham Young (ESPN)
Sat., Oct. 18    Tulane *
Sat., Oct. 25    Temple *
Sat., Nov. 1     at UConn *
Fri., Nov. 14    Tulsa * (ESPN2)
Sat., Nov. 22   SMU *
Fri., Nov. 28    at USF *
Thu., Dec. 4     at East Carolina * (ESPN)

CINCINNATI  
Fri., Sept. 12   Toledo (7 p.m., ESPNU)
Sat., Sept. 20   Miami (Ohio)
Sat., Sept. 27   at Ohio State
Sat., Oct. 4      Memphis *
Sat., Oct. 11    at Miami (Fla.)
Sat., Oct. 18    at SMU *
Fri., Oct. 24     USF * (ESPN/ESPN2)
Fri., Oct. 31     at Tulane * (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Sat., Nov. 15   East Carolina *
Sat., Nov. 22   at UConn *
Sat., Nov.29    at Temple *
Sat., Dec. 6     Houston *
                     
UCONN         
Fri., Aug. 29    Brigham Young (8 p.m., ESPN)
Sat., Sept. 6    Stony Brook
Sat., Sept. 13   Boise State
Fri., Sept. 19   at USF * (ESPN/ESPN2)
Sat. Sept. 27    Temple *
Sat., Oct. 11    at Tulane *
Thu., Oct. 23    at East Carolina * (ESPNU)
Sat., Nov. 1     UCF *
Sat., Nov. 8     at Army 2 (CBSSN)
Sat., Nov. 22   Cincinnati *
Sat., Nov. 29   at Memphis *
Sat., Dec. 6     SMU *
                     
EAST CAROLINA       
Sat., Aug. 30    North Carolina Central
Sat., Sept. 6    at South Carolina
Sat., Sept. 13   at Virginia Tech
Sat., Sept. 20   North Carolina
Sat., Oct. 4      SMU *
Sat., Oct. 11    at USF *
Thu., Oct. 23    UConn * (ESPNU)
Sat., Nov. 1     at Temple *
Sat., Nov. 15   at Cincinnati *
Sat., Nov. 22   Tulane *
Fri., Nov. 28    at Tulsa *
Thu., Dec. 4     UCF * (ESPN)

HOUSTON
Sat., Aug. 30    Texas-San Antonio
Sat., Sept. 6    Grambling
Thu., Sept. 11  at Brigham Young (ESPN)
Thu., Oct. 2     UCF * (ESPN)
Sat., Oct. 11    at Memphis *
Sat., Oct. 18    Temple *
Sat., Nov. 1     at USF *
Sat., Nov. 8     Tulane *
Sat., Nov. 22   Tulsa *
Fri., Nov. 28    at SMU *
Sat., Dec. 6     at Cincinnati *

MEMPHIS
Sat., Aug. 30    Austin Peay
Sat., Sept. 6    at UCLA
Sat., Sept. 20   Middle Tennessee
Sat., Sept. 27   at Mississippi
Sat., Oct. 4      at Cincinnati *
Sat., Oct. 11    Houston *
Sat., Oct. 25    at SMU *
Fri., Oct. 31     Tulsa * (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Sat., Nov. 8     at Temple *
Sat., Nov. 15   at Tulane *
Sat., Nov. 22   USF *
Sat., Nov. 29   UConn *
 
USF               
Thu., Aug. 30   Western Carolina
Sat., Sept. 6    Maryland
Sat., Sept. 13   North Carolina State
Fri., Sept. 19   UConn * (ESPN/ESPN2)
Sat., Sept. 27   at Wisconsin
Sat., Oct. 11    East Carolina *
Sat., Oct. 18    at Tulsa *
Fri., Oct. 24     at Cincinnati * (ESPN/ESPN2)
Sat., Nov. 1     Houston *
Sat., Nov. 15   at SMU *
Sat., Nov. 22   at Memphis *
Fri., Nov. 28    UCF *
                                 
SMU
Sun., Aug. 31   at Baylor
Sat., Sept. 6    at North Texas
Sat., Sept. 20   Texas A&M
Sat., Sept. 27   TCU
Sat., Oct. 4      at East Carolina *
Sat., Oct. 18    Cincinnati *
Sat., Oct. 25    Memphis *
Sat., Nov. 8     at Tulsa *
Sat., Nov. 15   USF *
Sat., Nov. 22   at UCF *
Sat., Nov. 29   Houston *
Sat., Dec. 6     at UConn *

TEMPLE
Thu., Aug. 28   at Vanderbilt (SEC Network)
Sat., Sept. 6    Navy
Sat., Sept. 20   Delaware State
Sat., Sept. 27   at UConn *
Sat., Oct. 11    Tulsa *
Sat., Oct. 18    at Houston *
Sat., Oct. 25    at UCF *
Sat., Nov. 1     East Carolina *
Sat., Nov. 8     Memphis *
Sat., Nov. 15   at Penn State
Sat., Nov. 29   Cincinnati *
Sat., Dec.6      at Tulane *
 
TULANE
Sat., Aug. 30    at Tulsa *
Sat., Sept. 6    Georgia Tech
Sat., Sept. 13   Southeastern Louisiana
Sat., Sept. 20   at Duke
Sat., Sept. 27   at Rutgers
Sat., Oct. 11    UConn *
Sat., Oct. 18    at UCF *
Fri., Oct. 31     Cincinnati * (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Sat., Nov. 8     at Houston *
Sat., Nov. 15   Memphis *
Sat., Nov. 22   at East Carolina *
Sat., Dec. 6     Temple *
 
TULSA
Sat., Aug. 30    Tulane *
Sat., Sept. 6    Oklahoma (ABC/ESPN/ESPN2)
Sat., Sept. 13   at Florida Atlantic
Sat., Sept. 27   Texas State
Sat., Oct. 4      at Colorado State
Sat., Oct. 11    at Temple *
Sat., Oct. 18    USF *
Fri., Oct. 31     at Memphis * (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Sat., Nov. 8     SMU *
Fri., Nov. 14    at UCF * (ESPN2)
Sat., Nov. 22   at Houston *
Fri., Nov. 28    East Carolina *
 
* American Athletic Conference game
 
All times Eastern; all dates and times subject to change
 
Additional television listings will be announced as they become available

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

More Sports

  • OSU Cowboys

    Get all your OSU Cowboys information from sports highlights to the latest news & videos.

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • ORU Golden Eagles

    ORU Golden Eagles fans can find the latest news on the team, scores and video here!

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

Powered by WorldNow
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
TULSA'S OWN TM
GREEN COUNTRY'S OWN TM
Oklahoma's Own Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state including Tulsa's Own and Green Country's Own.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and KOTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.