OSU Softball: 4 Named To All-Big 12 Teams - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

OSU Softball: 4 Named To All-Big 12 Teams

Posted: Updated:
STILLWATER, Oklahoma -

Oklahoma State softball had four players named to 2017 All-Big 12 teams, it was announced Wednesday by the league office.

Senior Brandi Needham and junior Vanessa Shippy were named to the first-team, while junior Rylee Bayless and sophomore Madi Sue Montgomery were selected to the second-team.

The four overall selections and two first-team honorees mark the most for each since 2010 when the Cowgirls had five overall and two first-team selections.

In two seasons in Stillwater, Oklahoma State has had seven Cowgirls named to All-Big 12 teams under Kenny Gajewski.
Needham has shined in the circle this year with an 18-8 record, the second-most wins in the Big 12 and 11 more victories than she earned last year. Shippy once again proved she belongs as one of the best in the country, batting .410 with 66 hits and a team-high 44 RBIs. 
Montgomery picked up right where she left off from her freshman year and hasn't missed a game at second on her way to batting .289 with 27 RBIs. Bayless, a first-year transfer, quickly made an impact in Stillwater this year thanks to her bat and she currently leads the nation in walks with 62. 

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

More Sports

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

  • TU Golden Hurricane

    Follow the TU Golden Hurricane! Get sports scores, news and highlights.

  • ORU Golden Eagles

    ORU Golden Eagles fans can find the latest news on the team, scores and video here!

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.