Falk Slips By Mayfield To Win Burlsworth Trophy - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

Falk Slips By Mayfield To Win Burlsworth Trophy

Posted: Updated:
SPRINGDALE, Arkansas -

Washington State quarterback Luke Falk has won the 2017 Burlsworth Trophy over two-time recipient Baker Mayfield, the Burlsworth Foundation announced Monday.

The Burlsworth Trophy annually honors the most outstanding college football player in America who began his career as a walk-on.

Mayfield has now missed out on two awards that were thought to be in the bag for the fifth-year senior. Last week, Mason Rudolph won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Mayfield is still a finalist for several more awards and is the frontrunner to win the Heisman Trophy.

Read Also: Mason Rudolph Wins Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

He’s still up for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award (most outstanding player), the Manning Award (quarterback award that takes bowl performance into consideration), Maxwell Award (best all-around), and Davey O’Brien Award (top quarterback) plus the Heisman Trophy.

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

More Sports

  • OSU Cowboys

    Get all your OSU Cowboys information from sports highlights to the latest news & videos.

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

  • TU Golden Hurricane

    Follow the TU Golden Hurricane! Get sports scores, news and highlights.

  • ORU Golden Eagles

    ORU Golden Eagles fans can find the latest news on the team, scores and video here!

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.