Burn Ban Lifted For All But 20 Western Oklahoma Counties - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

Burn Ban Lifted For All But 20 Western Oklahoma Counties

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Citing recent rainfall, Gov. Brad Henry Wednesday lifted the state's burn ban for all but 20 western Oklahoma counties.

Henry announced the action following a meeting on Wednesday with state agriculture, forestry and emergency management officials.

"The recent rainfall has improved conditions ion many parts of Oklahoma and reduced the fire danger that has plagued our state for many months," Henry said. The governor said he will restore the burn ban if the fire danger increases in the next few weeks.

The ban was lifted for all but the following counties: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Cimarron, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kiowa, Roger Mills, Major, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods and Woodward.
Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.