State wants to expand wildfire disaster declaration - - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - |

State wants to expand wildfire disaster declaration

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management said Tuesday it has asked that the wildfire disaster declaration issued by the federal government be expanded.

President Bush signed a disaster declaration for 12 counties on January 10, clearing the way for assistance programs including temporary housing and low-interest loans to repair non-insured property losses. The state would like to add 14 counties to that declaration.

A total of 786 homes have been damaged by wildfires in Oklahoma, said Michelann Ooten, a spokeswoman for the state's Department of Emergency Management, including 268 in the 14 counties the disaster declaration does not yet cover.

Those 14 counties are Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Creek, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Osage, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Tulsa and Wagoner.

The counties now in the disaster declaration are Canadian, Cotton, Garvin, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Seminole and Stephens.
Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.