Disaster unemployment assistance available - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

Disaster unemployment assistance available

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Fourteen more counties are being added to those where federal disaster unemployment assistance is available to those who've lost their jobs because of wildfires.

The state Employment Security Commission says the Federal Emergency Management Agency is adding the counties to the 12 where disaster unemployment assistance has been available since mid-January.

The assistance provides financial support to people who aren't eligible for regular unemployment benefits.

Anyone filing for disaster unemployment assistance must first file a regular state unemployment claim.

The latest counties added are Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Creek, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Osage, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Tulsa and Wagoner.

The 12 counties already eligible are: Canadian, Cotton, Garvin, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Seminole and Stephens counties.
Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.