Governor Removes NW Oklahoma, Tulsa And Oklahoma City Areas From Burn Ban - - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - |

Governor Removes NW Oklahoma, Tulsa And Oklahoma City Areas From Burn Ban

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Governor Brad Henry Tuesday lifted northwestern Oklahoma and the Oklahoma City and Tulsa areas from the state's burn ban.

Henry says many Oklahoma counties have received significant rainfall over the last few weeks, providing enough relief to lift the burn ban.

But Henry says Oklahomans should still be cautious when engaging in outdoor burning. The governor says Oklahoma is still in the midst of the worst drought in state history and that he'll expand the burn ban if needed.

State agriculture officials say the fire danger remains high in 39 counties that will remain under the burn ban. Outdoor burning will still be prohibited in southeastern Oklahoma and other areas that haven't received enough rainfall to offset drought conditions.

Counties remaining under the burn ban are: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Delaware, Garfield, Garvin, Grant, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McCurtain, McIntosh, McClain, Murray, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Okfuskee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Pontotoc, Seminole, Sequoyah and Stephens.
Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.