Gasso, Sooners highlight all-conference team - - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - |

Gasso, Sooners highlight all-conference team

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- The Oklahoma Sooners have the coach, player and newcomer of the year in Big 12 softball.

Conference coaches on Wednesday named Patty Gasso as coach of the year. First baseman Lisa Carey was voted player of the year and outfielder-first baseman Andrea Davis was named top newcomer.

Other Sooners voted to the all-conference first team were Lana Moran, Jennifer Stewart, Christy Ring, Erin Evans and Ashli Barrett.

Oklahoma won the regular-season title with a 17-1 record and is ranked fourth heading into the Big 12 tournament.

Oklahoma State placed three players on the all-conference first team -- Kirsty Jennings, Ryan Realmuto and Jenny Kipp. Lauren Bay and Amanda Hayes of OSU were voted to the second team.
Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.