10 Writers Receive Literary Awards - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

10 Writers Receive Literary Awards

NEW YORK (AP) — Ten emerging writers have each received $35,000 as winners of the 16th annual Whiting Writers' Awards for ``exceptional talent and promise.''

Among works by this year's recipients are ``Catfish and Mandala,'' a memoir by Andrew X. Pham about searching for his family in Vietnam; poems by Claude Wilkinson set in the rural South; and Colson Whitehead's ``The Intuitionist,'' a New York-based novel about elevator inspectors.

``Each of these writers seems at an important turning point,'' awards director Barbara Bristol said Thursday.

Other winners this year are fiction writers John McManus, Lily King, Samantha Gillison and Robert Cohen, poets Albert Mobilio and James Thomas Stevens, and playwright Kelly Stuart.

Previous winners include such now-established authors as Mary Karr, Michael Cunningham, Tony Kushner, and David Foster Wallace.
Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.