Some incumbents earn a free ride back to statehouse - - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - |

Some incumbents earn a free ride back to statehouse

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- While more than 400 candidates filed to run for state or federal offices, 27 state lawmakers have no opposition.

There are 13 Republicans and 12 Democrats in the state House and two Republicans in the Senate who have no opponent.

Senate Republican leader James Williamson of Tulsa is one of the unopposed candidates. He says it gives him time to help other G-O-P candidates.

The unopposed candidates in the House include Republicans Dennis Adkins, Don Armes, Dale DeWitt, Chris Hastings, Terry Ingmire, Mark Liotta, Jim Newport, Fred Perry, Ron Peters, Pam Peterson, Ron Peterson, Curt Roggow, and John Trebilcock.

Unopposed Democrats are John Carey, Jari Askins, Abe Deutschendorf, Joe Eddins, Jerry Ellis, Darrell Gilbert, Rebecca Hamilton, Lucky Lamons, Bud Smithson, Joe Sweeden, Dale Turner and Purcy Walker.

In the Senate, Williamson and Republican Kathleen Wilcoxson drew no opponent.
Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.