TULSA, Oklahoma – News On 6 Sports Director John Holcomb has been voted as the Oklahoma Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

This is the third time he has received the award to go along with his honors in 2001 and 2002.

Holcomb said it is a tremendous honor to receive the award.

"I'm blessed to be able to work with a lot of very talented people who really care about the quality of the product, and because of that I think this award should be a reflection of their efforts," he said.

Holcomb began his career at KOTV in November 1995 and has been anchoring weeknights sports since 1999.

He also hosts the statewide Oklahoma Ford Sports Blitz on Sunday nights with News 9 Sports Director Dean Blevins.

The Oklahoman sports columnist Berry Tramel received the award for Oklahoma Sportswriter of the Year.

ESPN's Dan Shulman and Sports Illustrated's Joe Posnanski received the national awards.