Five Sooners Earn Conference Honors

Thursday, March 7th 2013, 2:56 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma's Aaryn Ellenberg was a unanimous selection to the All-Big 12 Women's Basketball First Team and Portia Durrett was voted the league's Co-Newcomer of the Year.

It was the second straight year Ellenberg was voted to the first team.

Ellenberg was the Big 12's third-leading scorer at 19.0 points per game. The junior guard made an Oklahoma single-season record 98 3-pointers in 2012-13 and led the conference in 3-pointers made per game (3.3) and 3-point percentage (.428).

Joanna McFarland, who led the league in rebounding and totaled 10 double-doubles in conference play, was named to the All-Big 12 Second Team. Honorable mentions went to juniors Nicole Griffin and Morgan Hook.

McFarland averaged 9.2 points and 9.9 rebounds in her senior season. Hook averaged 10.6 points and 5.2 assists. Griffin counted 11.8 points and 5.0 rebounds per game.

Durrett shared the newcomer honor with Texas Tech's Jackie Patterson. It was the first tie in the history of the award. A transfer from Walters State College, Durrett averaged 3.6 points and 2.9 rebounds in 10 minutes per game.

Baylor's Brittney Griner and Kim Mulkey were selected, respectively, the player and coach of the year.

Oklahoma, the No. 3 seed, begins play in the Big 12 Championship facing No. 6 seed West Virginia in the quarterfinals Saturday, March 9, at 8:30 p.m.