OU's Ellenberg, Hand Named First Team All-Big 12, OSU's Bias Second

Monday, March 5th 2012, 4:21 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma's Aaryn Ellenberg and Whitney Hand received All-Big 12 First Team honors on Monday for their performances during the 2011-12 season.

Ellenberg averaged 15.6 points and shot 38 percent from 3-point range. Hand scored 13.0 points per game and averaged a team-high 7.0 rebounds.

OSU's Tiffany Bias earned Second Team All-Big 12 honors after finishing second in the Big 12 with 6.6 assists per game. The Andover, Kan., native also finished among the league's top 20 scorers, ranking 16th with her 12.3 points per game.

The impressive play of OSU's Liz Donohoe and Oklahoma's Sharane Campbell was also awarded Monday as Donohoe was named the Big 12 Freshman of the Year while Campbell was named the conference's Sixth Man of the Year.

Donohoe was named the Big 12 Freshman of the Week an impressive five times during the regular season and continues to impress on the court averaging 11 points and 8.2 rebounds through league play.

Campbell is averaging 8.7 points and 3.4 rebounds this season and was also honored by the conference four different weeks of the regular season as the Freshman of the week.

The No. 7 seed Cowgirls begin play in the Big 12 Tournament Wednesday at 5 p.m. against No. 10 Missouri in Kansas City. Oklahoma will take on the winner of that game Thursday at 5 p.m.

Coach of the Year: Kim Mulkey, Baylor
Player of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor
Newcomer of the Year: Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Freshman of the Year: Liz Donohoe, Oklahoma State
Defensive Player of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor
Sixth Man Award: Sharane Campbell, Oklahoma

First Team All-Big 12

Brittney Griner, Baylor

Odyssey Sims, Baylor

Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State

Carolyn Davis, Kansas

Brittany Chambers, K. State

Jalana Childs, K. State

Aaryn Ellenberg, Oklahoma

Whitney Hand, Oklahoma

Chassidy Fussell, Texas

Tyra White, Texas A&M


Second Team All-Big 12

Destiny Williams, Baylor

Angel Goodrich, Kansas

Christine Flores, Missouri

Tiffany Bias, Oklahoma State

Sydney Carter, Texas A&M