New Tulsa County Sheriff Files For Reelection First Week On The Job

Wednesday, April 13th 2016, 1:59 pm
By: News On 6

He's only been on the job for two days, but Tulsa County Sheriff Vic Regalado has already filed for reelection.

Regalado was elected April 5 to serve the remainder of Stanley Glanz's term which expires at the end of the year. So the office will be again on the ballot for the June primary and the full four-year term.

"Right now, politics is going to take a back seat. I've won twice in two elections - by overwhelming results - and people expect me to get to work," he said. "And that's what I want to do."

Also filing so far are Tulsa County Sheriff's Office Deputy Charles "Russell" Crow and Authur Jackson, a longtime supervisor at the Tulsa County jail who ran as an independent in the election to fill Glanz's seat.

TPD's Luke Sherman, a Republican who challenged Regalado in the primary to serve out Glanz's term, is expected to file also.

Filing continues through April 15 for county offices.

Regalado was sworn in Monday morning and quickly announced his new administration. His Undersheriff is Tulsa County resident and longtime Oklahoma Highway Patrol Captain George Brown.

“I have known George Brown for most of my career," Regalado said. “He is a man of integrity. He has the experience and leadership that I am looking for in an undersheriff.” 

Casey Roebuck was named director of public information for TCSO. She retired from a Tulsa TV station in December 2015. Regalado also brought on Brad Johnson as financial adviser for the department.

Wednesday, however, was the last day for candidates to file for a city office.

Because no one is running against them, we know District 6 city councilor Karen Gilbert, District 7 councilor Anna America, and District 9 city councilor Phil Lakin Jr. will keep their jobs for another two years.

Councilors Jack Henderson, Jeannie Cue, David Patrick, and Blake Ewing all will face opponents.

District 9 will elect a new councilor because G.T. Bynum is running for mayor against incumbent Dewey Bartlett and three others.

City auditor Cathy Criswell is unopposed and will serve another term.