City Councilors, Mayor File For Candidacy As Filing Period Opens In Tulsa

Monday, April 11th 2016, 7:15 pm
By: Emory Bryan

On the first day of filing for office, most of Tulsa’s incumbent city councilors filed for office, while a city councilor and mayor both filed for the top office.

Mayor Dewey Bartlett and City Councilor G.T. Bynum filed for Mayor, along with perennial candidate Lawrence Kirkpatrick.

District 1 Councilor Jack Henderson, District 5 Councilor Karen Gilbert, District 7 Councilor Anna America and District 8 Councilor Phil Lakin all filed for re-election without an opponent on the first day of filing.

District 2 City Councilor Jeannie Cue drew opponent Aaron Bisogno; District 3 Councilor David Patrick will be challenged by Jim Rice, District 6 Councilor Connie Dodson will face former City Councilor Skip Steele and Allen Branch.

Ben Kimbro and Eric McCray filed for the District 9 seat now held by Bynum.

No candidate has filed for District 4, now held by Councilor Blake Ewing.

City Auditor Cathy Criswell filed for re-election.

The filing period for city candidates continues through Wednesday.