TU's Shaq Harrison Selected To Participate In Slam Dunk And Three-Point Championships

Friday, March 25th 2016, 1:55 pm
By: News On 6

Tulsa senior guard Shaquille Harrison has been selected to the slam dunk roster for the 2016 State Farm College Slam Dunk and Three-Point Championships, on Thursday, March 31 at 8 p.m. at Berry Center in Cypress, Texas, Intersport announced today.

Harrison is one of eight men’s college basketball players chosen for the 28th annual event, which will air live on ESPN.

Harrison, a 6’4” guard from Kansas City, Mo., averaged 15.1 points and team-highs of 5.5 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 1.9 steals per game. He ended his career ranked second all-time at TU in assists (461), third in steals (244) and 11th in scoring (1,481 points). He is the only player in Tulsa history to start every game of his four-year career, and the only player to compile 1,300 points, 400 assists and 200 steals.

Harrison totaled 23 dunks this season, including several highlight-reel slams. He put down an ESPN SportsCenter Top 10 reverse dunk on an alley-oop from classmate Rashad Ray on Jan. 14 against UConn. He made highlights in Tulsa’s NCAA Tournament game against Michigan with an alley-oop dunk on a similar play and unveiled a fastbreak windmill jam against USF on March 5.

Previous Tulsa players to compete in the College Slam Dunk Championships include Justin Hurtt in 2011 and Eric Coley in 2000.

Intersport, producers of the event, invites 24 of the nation’s elite men’s and women’s college basketball players to compete in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships (eight dunkers, along with eight men’s and eight women’s shooters). The program showcases the dunking and sharp-shooting talents of the nation’s top college basketball players during the Men’s 3-Point Shooting Championship, the Women’s 3-Point Shooting Championship, the Battle of the Champions, and the Slam Dunk Championship.

A complete list of participants will be released at a later date.

Over the last 27 years, several of the top players in college basketball have competed in the College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships including: Gary Payton, Steve Nash, Jason Terry, Kyle Korver, Aaron Brooks, Bobby Hurley, Michael Finley, Damon Stoudamire, Allan Houston, Wes Matthews, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Gearlds, and Kristi Toliver.

Tickets for the 2016 State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships are on sale now and can be purchased at CollegeSlam.com. General admission tickets are $15 for adults and $10 for children 12 and under. For special group rates, please call 312-467-2826. Berry Center is located at 8877 Barker Cypress, Cypress, Texas.

For more information on the 2016 State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships, visit CollegeSlam.com