Oklahoma Counties Issue Burn Ban Notices

Tuesday, February 18th 2014, 10:58 am
By: News On 6

The Oklahoma Department of Forestry says several counties have put burn bans in place. The list includes Alfalfa, Creek, Grady, Jefferson, LeFlore, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Rogers, Wagoner and Tillman counties.

The Oklahoma Forestry Department sent two dozers and two brush pumpers to Coweta after getting a request from Wagoner County fire officials to help put out hot spots at the scene of Monday's fire.

The National Weather Service in Tulsa also issued a fire weather alert for eastern Oklahoma until 6 p.m.

With highs forecast to be in the 70s and strong southwesterly winds the potential for more grass and brush fires remains high across eastern Oklahoma Tuesday.

When burn bans are in effect, it is illegal to build a fire or burn trash or any other material that might cause a grass, forest or range fire. Gas and charcoal grilling is permitted on a concrete or other non-flammable surface with water available.

The NWS says the wind and low humidities will allow wildfires to spread rapidly. Red Flag Warnings are also in effect for several counties.

See Weather Alerts

On Monday, fire departments scrambled as wildfires flared up in several counties including Washington, Wagoner and Tulsa.

2/17/2014 Related Stories:
Coweta Grass Fire Destroys Some Structures As 700 Acres Burn
Investigators Believe Broken Arrow Grass Fire Was Started By Minor
Massive Wildfire Largely Under Control In Washington County