List Of Oklahoma Counties Under A Burn Ban Expands

Monday, January 27th 2014, 10:55 am
By: News On 6

Twenty-one Oklahoma counties are now under a burn ban.

One of the latest counties to make the list was Okmulgee County. County commissioners approved a 30-day burn ban Monday.

Other counties with a burn ban in place include:

  • Alfalfa
  • Blaine
  • Caddo
  • Canadian
  • Cotton
  • Creek
  • Grady
  • Haskell
  • Jefferson
  • Latimer
  • LeFlore
  • McClain
  • McIntosh
  • Payne
  • Pittsburg
  • Rogers
  • Seminole
  • Stephens
  • Tillman
  • Woods

Under a burn ban, it is against the law to set a grass or wildfire, build a campfire or burn trash. Anyone convicted could face a fine of up to $500 and a year in the county jail.

Oklahoma Forestry Services - Burn Ban Information