Two Tulsa State Representatives Named To House GOP Leadership Positions

Monday, December 3rd 2012, 1:08 pm
By: News On 6

Incoming Oklahoma House Speaker T.W. Shannon has tapped two Tulsans to state House leadership positions in the next Legislature.

Shannon announced Monday that Representative Pam Peterson of Tulsa will serve as the next majority floor leader. The majority floor leader coordinates when bills are scheduled for a hearing on the House floor.

Shannon also named Representative Fred Jordan of Tulsa as majority leader. He will share the post with Representative Dennis Johnson of Duncan.

Norman Representative Scott Martin will head the powerful Appropriations and Budget Committee.

Shannon announced Martin would serve as chairman of the committee where he has served as co-chairman for the last four years. Martin replaces Representative Earl Sears of Bartlesville, who headed the panel for two years.

Martin promised in a statement to "work hard every day to watch over our tax dollars."

Shannon also appointed Todd Thomsen of Ada as majority whip.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.