Oklahoma AAA: 3 Tulsa Area Students Honored As School Safety Patrollers Of The Year

Friday, November 16th 2012, 11:36 am
By: News On 6

AAA Oklahoma honored three students in Tulsa and Broken Arrow Friday as the organization's AAA School Safety Patrollers of the Year.

  • John Moore – Leisure Park Elementary School / Broken Arrow Public Schools
  • B.J. Lambert – Park Elementary School / Tulsa Public Schools
  • Freedom Abernathy – Briarglen Elementary School / Union Public Schools

AAA says these ambassadors of traffic safety play a crucial role daily in keeping students safe as they walk to and from school. 

"These school students and adults have thankless jobs that start early in the morning, in a wide variety of weather conditions that only Oklahoma can bring. We salute them for their tireless efforts," said Chuck Mai, spokesman for AAA Oklahoma.

Nominations for the awards were submitted by teachers and parents. 

"Our Safety Patrol members are carrying the torch of responsibility into the schools and teaching other students the valuable and life-saving principles we all know as traffic safety," said Chuck Mai.

The program was established in 1920 and now has active patrol units in more than 250 schools across Oklahoma.

Read the School Safety Patrol manual.