TU's Johnson, OSU's Randle On Hornung Watch List

Monday, August 8th 2011, 3:40 pm
By: News On 6


OKLAHOMA CITY – The Louisville Sports Commission announced the 2011 Paul Hornung Award watch list Monday and Tulsa's Damaris Johnson, along with OSU's Joseph Randle both made the award list.

Johnson and Randle are two of the fifty players named to the watch list that honors the nation's most versatile college football player.

Entering his senior season, Johnson is a three year letterwinner and starter for the Golden Hurricane. Since he came to Tulsa, Johnson has played in all 39 games. The 5'8 receiver holds the NCAA's all-time records for all-purpose yards with 7,796 yards and for career kickoff return yardage with 3,417 yards. Last year he tallied 13 touchdowns and led Tulsa with 872 receiving yards, 904 kick-off return yards and 292 punt return yards.

Randle, a sophomore for the Cowboys, had a big season last year during his true-freshman season playing in 13 games. On the ground he averaged 5.5 yards per carry and through the air he caught 37 passes for 427 yards. The Wichita, Kansas native finished the regular season second on the team in rushing, fourth in receiving, second in kick returns and seventh in scoring.

The award is named after Paul Hornung is a Louisville native who played running back, quarterback, defensive back and handled kicking duties at Notre Dame and won the 1956 Heisman Trophy and is now a member of the NFL Hall of Fame.

The 2011 Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on 2010 statistics and expectations heading into the 2011 season.

This year's award list boasts talent from all 11 conferences and there are 20 seniors, 20 juniors and ten sophomores in the running for the award.

The Big 12 had a total of four players nominated while the Pac-12 is the leading conference with nine players followed by the SEC with eight.

In December the Selection Committee, comprised of 16 national sports journalists and former college and NFL players, will narrow the field to approximately 3-5 finalists before selecting the winner after the bowl season in early January.

2011 Paul Hornung Award Watch List Selections:
Joe Adams, Arkansas
Keenan Allen, California
Kenjon Barner, Oregon
Brandon Boykin, Georgia
Chad Bumphis, Mississippi State
Jesse Callier, Washington
Tyron Carrier, Houston
Tim Cornett, UNLV
Tommy Davis, Northern Illinois
Jeff Demps, Florida
Jyruss Edwards, Louisiana-Monroe
Andre Ellington, Clemson
Troy Evans, Marshall
Jerry Gates, Bowling Green
Taylor Gentry, NC State
Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
Ray Graham, Pittsburgh
Cyrus Gray, Texas A&M
Cliff Harris, Oregon
T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
Josh Huff, Oregon
Damaris Johnson, Tulsa
KeShawn Martin, Michigan State
Rishard Matthews, Nevada
Marquis Maze, Alabama
Bradley McDougald, Kansas
Jamal Miles, Arizona State
Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
Chris Owusu, Stanford
Eric Page, Toledo
Bobby Rainey, Western Kentucky
Joseph Randle, Oklahoma State
Greg Reid, Florida State
Trent Richardson, Alabama
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Josh Robinson, Central Florida
James Rodgers, Oregon State
Mohamed Sanu, Rutgers
Pat Shed, UAB
Eric Stephens, Texas Tech
Troy Stoudermire Jr., Minnesota
Alexander Teich, Navy
Justin Veltung, Idaho
Jonathan Warzeka, Air Force
Kerwynn Williams, Utah State
David Wilson, Virginia Tech
Cierre Wood, Notre Dame
Robert Woods, USC
DJ Woods, Cincinnati