Texas Wins Oil Bowl on Field Goal in Overtime

Thursday, July 28th 2011, 6:14 pm
By: News On 6

Originally Published: Jun 11, 2011 11:16 PM CDT

Oklahoma Sports Staff

WICHITA FALLS, Texas -- After winning the 2010 Oil Bowl by a single point, Texas topped Oklahoma on a Doug Gentry field goal in overtime to claim the 2011 Oil Bowl 17-14.

On the first play of the extra period, Texas’ Cord Seay forced a fumble that Texas recovered, setting up the game-winning attempt from 39 yards out for Hedlund.

Kingfisher’s Derek Patterson struggled to start the game, throwing two interceptions in the first quarter. The first turned into points for Texas as Stephen Sanders returned it 71 yards for a scoreto give Texas a 6-0 advantage.

Will Davis subbed in for Patterson in the second and connected with Lawton’s Tyrequek Zimmerman for a 21-yard touchdown to give Oklahoma 7-6 lead. After halftime, Patterson subbed back in and threw a 39-yard strike to Zimmerman to give Oklahoma an eight-point lead.

In the fourth, a snap sailed over Patterson’s head and into the end zone. The Tulsa commit gathered it up and stepped out the back of the end zone to avoid a possible touchdown and pull Texas within six points with six minutes left to play.

Three minutes later, Texas’ Doug Gentry scored from four yards out, but a bad snap on the PAT kept the game tied 14-14 and sent it to overtime.