Oklahoma Governor Seeks Disaster Declaration For Winter Storm

Tuesday, April 5th 2011, 2:47 pm
By: News On 6


OKLAHOMA CITY -- Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin is asking the White House for a major disaster declaration related to the blizzard which struck northeast Oklahoma January 31st through February 5th.

The request is for 16 counties. It includes Craig, Creek, Jefferson, Logan, Mayes, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Stephens, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington counties.

"The severe winter storms caused widespread damage and cost local communities millions of dollars," Fallin said. "This major disaster declaration will allow local and state governments to seek help with eligible infrastructure repair costs."

Governor Mary Fallin's office says initial surveys estimate eligible state and local costs for the storm throughout these counties exceed $8.7 million.

If granted, a public assistance disaster declaration would authorize federal funding to assist cities, towns and counties with eligible infrastructure repairs and costs associated with their response to the snow storm.

Fallin declared a state of emergency in Oklahoma on January 31st.

1/31/2011 Related Story: Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin Declares State Of Emergency