Oklahoma Governor Declares Emergency For 13 Counties

Friday, September 10th 2010, 7:56 am
By: News On 6


UNDATED -- Oklahoma Governor Brad Henry has declared a state of emergency for 13 counties because of flooding on Thursday.

The list includes Adair, Bryan, Carter, Cherokee, Delaware, Haskell, LeFlore, McIntosh, Muskogee, Ottawa, Pittsburg, Sequoyah and Wagoner counties.

Related stories:
Rising Waters Crumble Roads In Pittsburg County
9/9/2010 Heavy Rains Flood Several Eastern Oklahoma Communities And Counties

In a news release from the governor's office, the declaration by the governor provides a formal mechanism for local governments to seek reimbursement for recovery costs through the state's disaster public assistance program.

The executive order is also the first step toward seeking federal aid should it be necessary.

Officials with the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management continue to survey damage left behind by the storm system but have already confirmed three tornadoes impacted Lone Grove, Marietta and Colbert.

Damage also occurred due to flash flooding in number of areas, including Haskell, McIntosh, Pittsburg and Sequoyah counties.