List Of Oklahoma Counties Under A Burn Ban Continues To Grow

Monday, August 30th 2010, 1:19 pm
By: News On 6

STIGLER, OKLAHOMA -- Four eastern Oklahoma counties are now under burn bans. The commissioners in Haskell and LeFlore counties approved a burn ban for their county Monday morning.

Last week, Cherokee and Latimer counties approved similar burn bans.

8/27/2010 Related story: Hot, Dry Weather Triggers Burn Bans In Oklahoma

Under a burn ban, it is unlawful for any person to set a grass or wildfire, build a campfire or burn trash. Anyone convicted could face a fine of up to $500 and not more than one year in the county jail.

The Oklahoma Forestry Service has a web page with the latest burn ban information.