Filing Period Ends For Tulsa's Mayor Race

Wednesday, July 15th 2009, 6:07 pm
By: News On 6

By Emory Bryan, The News On 6

TULSA, OK -- When Tulsa Mayor Kathy Taylor announced she wasn't running for re-election, it opened up the field.  Now, it looks like there's going to be a long ballot on election day.

The filing period ended at 5 p.m. on Wednesday.  There are five people running as Democrats, 10 as Republicans and three Independents.  In all, 18 people want to be the next mayor of Tulsa.

The last day to file brought no big names to the contest who had not already announced their intentions.  The best known candidates filed for the office earlier in the week.  Those include Senator Tom Adelson, a Democrat, Republican oil man Dewey Bartlett, former Tulsa City Councilor and radio host Chris Medlock, a Republican.  And, Republican Anna Falling, a former councilor announced Tuesday she was running.


  • Robert Gwin
  • Paul Tay
  • A. Burns
  • Prophet Clark
  • Tom Adelson


  • Cleon Burrell
  • Lawrence Kirkpatrick
  • Mark Perkins


  • David O'Connor
  • Dewey Bartlett
  • Paul Roales
  • Michael Tomes
  • Norris Streetman
  • Kevin Boggs
  • Chris Medlock
  • John Todd
  • Nathaniel Booth
  • Anna Falling

While all the candidates want to run Tulsa City Hall, they'll first go through a party primary, and then the top Democrat and Republican will face the Independents in a general election.

While Wednesday was the last day to file for the city's top office, the list might not yet be final.

The official list of candidates will be available Friday after a period to contest the candidates.  The same is true for Tulsa City Council candidates.

The primary election is September 8th.

Read the Declaration Of Candidacy