Taxpayers Get Extension In 5 Arkansas Disaster-area Counties

Tuesday, April 14th 2009, 5:31 am
By: News On 6

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - State officials have extended the tax deadline for people and business in five counties declared disaster areas from last Thursday night's storms.

The Department of Finance and Administration announced today that the deadline for filing income tax returns and paying any tax due is extended until Aug. 15 for those who live in or have a business in the five conties. Those counties are Ashley, Miller, Howard, Polk and Sevier (suh-VEER').

The department also said it will waive the failure to file, failure to pay and interest charges for businesses that can't make withholding deposits. The department said those fees were also waived for individuals and businesses unable to make estimated tax payments between April 9 and May 27 because of the storms.

To claim the special extension, write "Disaster Storms" on the front of the mailing envelope and on the top left corner of the tax return.

On the Net:

Tax info:

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.