Ice Storm Help Sought For 6 More Oklahoma Counties

Friday, February 20th 2009, 8:12 am
By: News On 6

Associated Press

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Gov. Brad Henry wants the Federal Emergency Management Agency to provide public assistance to six more counties hit hard by a January ice storm.

Henry said Thursday he wants assistance extended to Comanche, Haskell, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee and Sequoyah counties.

Federal public assistance was granted on Tuesday to four counties impacted by last month's brutal ice storm. Those counties were Adair, Cherokee, Delaware and Hughes.

2/15/2009 Related story: Disaster Assistance Approved For 3 Counties

Under public assistance granted by President Obama, local governments and rural electric cooperatives in the four counties can receive federal funding for infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the storm.

Henry says it's been a challenging winter, and Oklahoma towns and counties need help in their recovery.