Feds Approve Additional Flood Aid

Tuesday, September 11th 2007, 8:34 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) _ Federal officials approved public assistance Tuesday for nine additional counties damaged by storms from June 10 to July 25, Gov. Brad Henry's office said Tuesday.

The counties are Custer, Hughes, Jefferson, Kiowa, McIntosh, Oklahoma, Pawnee, Payne and Pottawatomie. With the latest action, a total of 50 counties have now been approved for public assistance for these storms.

Under a disaster declaration for public assistance, local governments are eligible to receive aid for repairs of public infrastructure such as roads and bridges and other costs incurred in responding to the storms.