Bush Approves Infrastructure Help For Eight Counties

Saturday, September 1st 2007, 4:56 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) _ President Bush issues a major disaster declaration for eight Oklahoma counties. The declaration allows federal aid to be dispensed to help state and local governments fix infrastructure damage from severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from May 24th to June 1st.

Bryan, Comanche, Cotton, Logan, Pontotoc, Seminole, Stephens and Tillman counties will receive assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities that were damaged.

White House officials said Friday federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

State emergency management officials say they'll continue to work to secure public assistance for all Oklahoma cities, towns and counties impacted by this summer's storms.