Two Oklahoma Counties Declared Disaster Areas

Saturday, July 7th 2007, 4:08 pm
By: News On 6

President Bush approved a disaster declaration for two Oklahoma counties hit hard by flooding. Both Ottawa and Washington Counties have been approved for federal help. That means flood victims there can apply for a wide range of programs, including temporary housing assistance and various grants. Businesses are also eligible for low interest loans from the small business administration.

To apply, you can call 800-621-FEMA or log onto

When calling to apply, please have the following on hand:
  • current phone number
  • address at the time of the disaster
  • address where you are now residing
  • social security number
  • list of damages and losses
  • if insured, name of the company, agent and policy number
  • general financial information
  • bank account coding information, if you wish to speed up the assistance with direct deposit

  • If you are already registered with American Red Cross, Salvation Army or have already reported damages to local officials, you still need to call FEMA and apply for the federal and state assistance.

    For more flooding information, check out our STORM ZONE web page.