All Big 12 football team

Thursday, December 4th 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Dallas-AP) -- Oklahoma quarterback Jason White and linebacker Teddy Lehman led a group of 11 players from the Number 1 Sooners who were first-team selections to the All-Big 12 team picked by the league's coaches.

White was tabbed as the offensive player of the year. Lehman was picked by the coaches as the defensive player of the year after recording 100 tackles with one sack and 12 tackles for losses.

Coach Bob Stoops, whose Sooners play Number 13 Kansas State in the Big 12 championship game Saturday, was picked by his peers as the league's top coach.

Oklahoma also swept the individual honors in The Associated Press awards announced today, but the panel of 19 reporters who regularly cover the conference for newspapers from the league's seven states chose cornerback Derrick Strait over Lehman for the defensive honor.

The Sooners claimed 11 of the 27 first-team spots on the coaches' team.