OSU wrestling coach honored

Wednesday, March 26th 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- Oklahoma State's John Smith is the Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year.

The Cowboys had an undefeated season at 17-and-0, won the Big 12 Conference title and won the school's 31st national title Saturday at the NCAA Division one Wrestling Championships in Kansas City, Missouri.

Smith, a two-time Olympic gold medalist, now has coached 12 national champions and 28 All American wrestlers.

Smith, a Del City native, wrestled for OSU from 1983 to 1988. He finished his college career as the winningest Cowboy ever.