32 U.S. college students chosen for new class of Rhodes Scholars

Sunday, December 9th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

WASHINGTON (AP) _ Thirty-two American college students have been selected as Rhodes Scholars, the scholarship trust announced Sunday.

The winners were selected by eight regional committees from among 925 applicants who were endorsed by 319 colleges and universities throughout the nation.

Rhodes Scholarships, created in 1902 by the will of British philanthropist Cecil Rhodes, provide two or three years of study at Oxford University in England. Winners are selected on the basis of high academic achievement, personal integrity, leadership potential and physical vigor, among other attributes.

Among the winners was Kendra M. Young of Bigfork, Mont. Young is a senior at Grinnell College where she majors in biology. She has won research awards and grants for her work in biology and has worked as a paramedic in Bolivia and in a hospital in Costa Rica. She plays the violin and trombone and enjoys high-altitude hiking.

Harvard University placed five students, the most of any institution, on this year's list of winners. Harvard has 300 winners over the years, the most of any U.S. institution.

The 32 American students chosen as Rhodes Scholars for 2002, listed by district:

District I:

Sanjay Basu, Lisle, Ill., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Robert R. Porter, Belmont, Mass., Harvard University

Megan S. Steven, Chatham, N.Y., Dartmouth College

Rachel Walshe, Warwick, R.I., University of Rhode Island

District II:

David A. Kovara, Flemington, N.J., University of Delaware

Grace Yu, Kanagawa, Japan, Syracuse University

Zachariah R. Miller, Stoneboro, Pa., U.S. Military Academy

Shayna L. Strom, Penn Valley, Pa., Yale University

District III:

Oeindrila Dube, Washington, D.C., Stanford University

Emelia M. Spencer, Rockville, Md., U.S. Naval Academy

Alexis R. Blane, Charlotte, N.C., Duke University

Samuel W. Malone, Zebulon, N.C., Duke University

District IV:

Rhett Martin, Atkins, Ark., University of Central Arkansas

P. Kamar Cheruvu, Tampa, Fla., Duke University

William B. Roper Jr., Rutledge, Ga., University of Georgia

Robert J. Smith, Stone Mountain, Ga., U.S. Military Academy

District V:

Andrew Park, Wheeling, Ill., Harvard University

Erica J. Watson, Henry, Ill., U.S. Military Academy

Anne Kafoure, Westerville, Ohio, Miami University

Zachary S. Morris, Rockford, Ill., Ripon College

District VI:

Neil R. Brown, Saint Charles, Iowa, Harvard University

Katharine T. Buzicky, St. Paul, Minn., Princeton University

Christopher Elders, Kansas City, Mo., Morehouse College

Stephen E. Sachs, Clayton, Mo., Harvard University

District VII

Albert H. Cho, Tempe, Ariz., Harvard University

Mindy C. Hebert, New Iberia, La., Carnegie Mellon University

Kendra M. Young, Bigfork, Mont., Grinnell College

John C. Probasco, Rio Rancho, N.M. University of New Mexico

District VIII

Lillian B. Pierce, Fallbrook, Calif., Princeton University

Sunita Puri, Los Angeles, Yale University

Nico I. Slate, Newberry Springs, Calif., Stanford University

Elizabeth Angell, Bainbridge Island, Wash., University of Washington