Sunday deadline for ice storm unemployment benefits

Tuesday, February 20th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

Oklahoma City-AP) -- Residents of eight Oklahoma counties who are out of work as a direct result of a series of ice storms earlier this winter have until Sunday to apply for special unemployment benefits.

Caddo, Comanche, Craig, Delaware, Mayes, Ottawa, Rogers and Tillman counties were added to the original major disaster declaration issued by former President Clinton on January Fifth.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is a program administered by the Unemployment Insurance Division of the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission to aid victims of the ice storms.

To file an application for Disaster Unemployment Assistance, call (405) 525-1500 in the Oklahoma City metro area and (918) 384-2397 in the Tulsa metro area)