Oklahoma delegation votes to retain Boy Scout charter

Thursday, September 14th 2000, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- All six members of Oklahoma's congressional delegation voted against legislation to revoke the federal charter of the Boy Scouts of America.

The roll call vote against the measure was 362-to-12. Republican Representatives Tom Coburn, Ernest Istook, Steve Largent, Frank Lucas, Wes Watkins and J-C Watts voted against the measure.

Istook says the bill was an attempt to punish the Scouts and was proposed by homosexual groups who want the Scouts to approve homosexuals as Scout leaders.

The U.S. Supreme Court voted 5-4 last month to uphold the Scouts' right to determine their own standards.