Three Quapaw governing board members dismissed

Tuesday, September 12th 2000, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Quapaw-AP) -- Three members of the Quapaw Tribe's governing board had been dismissed.

The three were dismissed during a recent business committee meeting.

A special meeting has been called for next month to fill the vacancies.

Kim Carrigan, Jess McKibben and Shirley Payton were dismissed for refusing to participate in a July meeting. Lloyd Buffalo had also been accused but no action was taken against him when members learned he'd been excused from the meeting by tribal Chairwoman Tamara Martin.

The four allegedly walked out of the July meeting to protest Martin's election to chairwoman. Martin has been accused of questionable practices regarding absentee ballots and voter registration since her tenure began July Fourth.

No fraudulent ballots were discovered in an examination of the voting process and absentee ballots.