Governor honored by American Legislative Exchange Council

Wednesday, June 21st 2000, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- A national legislators group has chosen Gov. Frank Keating to receive its highest honor, the Thomas
Jefferson Freedom Award.

Keating will receive the award July 28 at the annual meeting of the American Legislative Exchange Council.

ALEC is the nation's largest nonprofit, bipartisan membership group of state legislators, with more than 3,000 members. The
Jefferson award has been given annually since 1990 to a public leader who has advanced the principles of Thomas Jefferson.

"The principles of which ALEC is based -- fundamental Jefferson principles of free markets, individual liberty and limited
government -- are the ideals of which American democracy has been based for more than 20 years," Keating said. "I believe in these principles and I'm privileged to join the distinguished list of past recipients."

Among those who have received the award are former presidents Reagan and Bush and Jack Kemp, all Republicans, and Nebraska Gov. Ben Nelson, a Democrat.