24 State Senators Take Oath Of Office

Thursday, November 16th 2006, 1:02 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- 24 Oklahoma state senators formally took their oaths of office at the state Capitol Thursday.

State Supreme Court Chief Justice Joseph Watt presided over the swearing-in of nine new and 15 returning senators.

Their terms officially begin November 22nd.

The new senators will return to the Capitol for orientation sessions on November 17th and December 5th and the full state Senate will hold an organizational meeting on January 2nd.

The regular session of the state Legislature begins February 5th.