Sooner Athletic Conference adds Rogers State

Wednesday, September 27th 2006, 5:44 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) The athletic directors of the Sooner Athletic Conference have voted unanimously to accept Rogers State University in Claremore as its 11th member.

The Hillcats will begin a 2 year associate membership in 2007 and will be eligible for full membership after 2 years.

The Hillcats will field baseball and softball teams in the spring of 2007 and are scheduled to start men's and women's basketball in the fall of 2007.

The Sooner Athletic Conference is a member conference in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics. It includes 10 schools in Oklahoma, Arkansas and Texas.