Unemployment assistance available for some grass fire victims

Friday, January 13th 2006, 4:50 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Residents in 12 Oklahoma counties are now eligible for disaster unemployment assistance because of grass fires in those counties.

The assistance is available to those whose jobs were lost or interrupted as a direct result of the fires. Individuals who qualify for normal unemployment benefits are not eligible for the disaster assistance.

To file for disaster unemployment assistance individuals must first establish a regular state unemployment claim. The disaster unemployment applications will be taken until February 13th.

Disaster unemployment assistance is available in Canadian, Cotton, Garvin, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Seminole and Stephens counties.