9 Oklahoma Counties Under State Of Emergency - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

9 Oklahoma Counties Under State Of Emergency

Posted: Updated:
Governor Brad Henry Governor Brad Henry


OKLAHOMA CITY -- Governor Brad Henry Wednesday issued a State of Emergency for nine Oklahoma counties impacted by tornadoes, severe storms and flooding that have battered sections of the state since Saturday.

Counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Kay, Major, Woods and Woodward. Other counties can be added as conditions warrant.

"Many communities throughout our state have been hit hard by severe storms that began over the weekend and are continuing to cause significant damages," Henry said. "It is critical that city and county governments have all available resources at their disposal."

Under the executive order, state agencies can make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. In addition, the declaration serves as a first step toward seeking federal assistance, should it be necessary.

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.