TU's O'Hare To Compete At 106th Millrose Games - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

TU's O'Hare To Compete At 106th Millrose Games

Posted: Updated:

Senior Chris O'Hare will compete in the Wanamaker Mile against some of the best runners from around the globe at the 106th edition of the Millrose Games on Saturday, February 16th at The Armory Foundation's New Balance Track & Field Center.

For O'Hare, the 2012 NCAA Champion in the indoor mile, this marks the second consecutive year he has been invited to compete in the prestigious event.

"It is definitely an honor just to be asked to run in an event like the Wanamaker Mile at the Millrose Games," O'Hare said. "It is such a prestigious event. Last year I ran it, and I didn't run very well. I was very caught up in getting the collegiate record last year. This year, I am taking an approach that I am going to run as hard as I can, and if the time comes, it comes. I am going to run to win it instead of going for a time. It is definitely an easier way to look at it, and a more experienced way to look at it."

Last year, O'Hare finished in sixth place and third among collegians in the event clocking in at 3:56.63.

"It is an honor for Chris to be invited to the Millrose Games," commented Head Coach Steve Gulley. "He had a good experience last year, so he is probably more comfortable to be on the track this year. I think it is a great opportunity to run against the best, and Chris is always looking for a challenge."

The field consists of 12 total runners, three collegiate competitors and nine professional runners. The other collegiate competitors are Lawi Lalang of Arizona and Ryan Hill of North Carolina State.

The list of professionals includes defending champion Matthew Centrowitz, two-time Olympian Lopez Lomong, Robby Anders, Ryan Gregson, Donn Cabral, Ciaran O'Lionaird, Garrett Heath, Jordan McNamara, Mitch Goose and Miles Batty. Batty won the 2011 NCAA Indoor Mile title, defeating O'Hare, who claimed second, by .13 seconds. At the 2012 NCAA Indoor National Championships, O'Hare won the mile crown to claim TU's first national track title, while Batty finished in third place.

"It is going to be one of the fastest miles in the world during the indoor season," O'Hare said. "I would be surprised if you found a faster field anywhere else."

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

More Sports

  • OSU Cowboys

    Get all your OSU Cowboys information from sports highlights to the latest news & videos.

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • ORU Golden Eagles

    ORU Golden Eagles fans can find the latest news on the team, scores and video here!

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.