TU Announces Spring Football Dates - NewsOn6.com - Tulsa, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports - KOTV.com |

TU Announces Spring Football Dates

Posted: Updated:
TULSA -

First-year Head Coach Philip Montgomery and the Tulsa football coaching staff will get on the practice field for the first time with the Golden Hurricane team on Sunday, March 8, it was announced today.

The first three days of 15 spring practice dates will take place before spring break for The University of Tulsa. In the first week, the Hurricane will be on the field Sunday (Mar. 8), Tuesday (Mar. 10) and Wednesday (Mar. 11) before departing for spring break.

“We're excited to get on the field with our players,” said Montgomery. “We're looking forward to having the opportunity to put them through our drills and get involved in our schemes, as well as being able to evaluate our strengths and weaknesses on both sides of the ball,”

“Our guys are working extremely hard right now in our off-season conditioning workouts. Their excitement level has been through the roof since we've been here, and we're looking forward to seeing how that translates on the field. We have so much to accomplish this spring. Tempo will be a huge deal at just learning how to practice at the pace that we want to play,” added Montgomery.

When Tulsa returns from spring break, Hurricane practice sessions will take place on Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays. Tulsa returns to the practice field on Tuesday, March 24 and will conclude spring drills on Saturday, April 18.

“We've extended spring over a longer period of time with the idea of being able to spend more time from a drill and meeting standpoint, and hopefully being able to retain more information from the spring into the fall,” said Montgomery.

Normal weekday practices will take place in the afternoon with Saturday sessions in the morning. Selected practice sessions will be open to the public.

Tulsa Pro Day is scheduled for Friday, March 13, with a mid-morning start time.

SPRING PRACTICE DATES

Sunday, March 8

Tuesday, March 10

Wednesday, March 11

SPRING BREAK

Tuesday, March 24

Friday, March 27

Saturday, March 28

Tuesday, March 31

Friday, April 3

Saturday, April 4

Tuesday, April 7

Friday, April 10

Saturday, April 11

Tuesday, April 14

Friday, April 17

Saturday, April 18

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

More Sports

  • OSU Cowboys

    Get all your OSU Cowboys information from sports highlights to the latest news & videos.

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • ORU Golden Eagles

    ORU Golden Eagles fans can find the latest news on the team, scores and video here!

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

Powered by Frankly
News On 6
303 N. Boston Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74103
Newson6.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOTV. Oklahoma Traveler™ is a registered trademark of Griffin Communications. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.