Oklahoma Election Results: Edmond Elects New Mayor

Throughout the state, residents cast their ballots for local government positions and propositions.

Tuesday, April 7th 2009, 10:34 pm

By: News 9

Staff and Wire Reports

EDMOND, Oklahoma -- Patrice Douglas beat incumbent Dan O'Neil in Edmond's Mayoral race Tuesday. Douglas was able to secure 57.9 percent of the votes to O'Neil's 42.1 percent.

Douglas, an Edmond resident of 20 years, said community involvement is in her blood and looks to improve transportation and build stronger schools in the city. She was endorsed by Congresswoman Mary Fallin, County Commissioner Ray Vaughn and Former Edmond Mayor Saundra Naifeh.

"I am so proud of Edmond," Douglas said. "They believed in our priorities and they believed we needed to take Edmond in a new direction."

O'Neil, 62, is finishing his first two-year term as mayor.

Elsewhere, Mustang voters approved a $56.5 million bond issue to redesign the high school campus and add classrooms and a cafeteria at two other schools.

"When I saw the numbers go up on the board I was just so thankful that we had gotten the information to the people," Mustang Superintendent Bonnie Lightfoot said. "I think it is absolutely awesome that we saw the support."

Officials said the bond money will pay for an overhaul of the Mustang High School campus, including the construction of a two-story building that would house 28 classrooms and administrative offices.

In other school votes, Cimarron Public Schools patrons approved a $1.16 million bond issue by a 227-53 vote. The bulk of the money will be used to build a junior high wing. The structure also would serve as a storm shelter for the school and the Lahoma community.

In Waukomis, voters approved a one-cent sales tax dedicated to helping fund emergency services. The vote was 155-53, or 74.5 percent to 35.5 percent, for the tax, which will remain on the books unless residents vote to repeal it.

Revenue from the tax will be used to pay for equipment, maintenance and training, said Waukomis Police Chief Phillip Ott.

In Covington, residents voted 58-3 for a one-cent sales tax to pay for police protection. the tax will be effective from Oct. 1 to Sept. 30, 2014.

Oklahoma County Results:

Patrice Douglas 57.91%
Daniel P. O'Neil 42.09%

Learn more about all of the propositions Edmond residents voted on.

Proposition 1
For 38.1%
Against 61.9%

Proposition 2
For 56.25%
Against 43.75%

Proposition 3
For 66.02%
Against 33.98%

Proposition 4
For 75.48%
Against 24.52%

Proposition 5
For 65.03%
Against 34.97%

Town of Forest Park
Board of Trustees (Office No. 2)
Robert C. Samples 30.11%
Lewis Pringle 69.89%

Board of Trustees (Office No. 4)
Nita Cook 28.50%
Demetra C. Moore 33.16%
Arthur B. Hurst 2.07%
Elton N. Matthews 36.27%

For 40.44%
Against 59.56%

City of Nichols Hills
Proposition 1
For 90.6%
Against 9.4%

Proposition 2
For 91.61%
Against 8.39%

Proposition 3
For 91.61%
Against 8.39%

Proposition 4
For 86.25%
Against 13.75%

Proposition 5
For 92.44%
Against 7.56%

Proposition 6
For 87.63%
Against 12.37%

Larry Fryar 70.42%
Peter K. Brand 29.58%

For 74.52%
Against 25.48%

For 78.93%
Against 21.07%

Proposition 1
For 84.31%
Against 15.69%

Proposition 2
For 86.27%
Against 13.73%

City of Choctaw
Councilman (Ward 4)
Roger D. Malone 56.59%
Art Sipes 43.41%

Jone City
Board of Trustees*
Rene Warren 22.57%
Randall E. McMillin 32.92%
Teresa R Shuffield 44.51%

*Top two elected

Town of Luther
Board of Trustees*
Sue Woods 18.62%
Cecilia Taft 11.52%
James H Jackson 20.39%
Gerald Jerry Martin 21.28%
Phyllis L. Raines 9.57%
Allen Parrish 4.96%
Ronald J. Henry Sr. 13.65%

*Top three elected

Town Clerk-Treasurer
Kelly M Thomas 25.47%
Angela Palovik 19.61%
Shanna D. Miller 53.92%

City of Spencer
Dale Ellis 44.44%
Marsha Jefferson 55.56%

City of Warr Acres
Mike Gossman 29.97%
Patrick Wooley 70.03%

Deer Creek
Office No. 4
Suzanne McGraw 46.87%
Daniel Barnes 53.13%

Office No. 4
Dee Ann Harper 38.26%
James L. Selders 61.74%

For 61.11%
Against 38.89%

Cleveland County Results:

Councilmember (Ward 4)
Max Punneo 53%
Marion McWhirter 53%

Councilmember (Ward 3)
Jason Blair 56.25%
Louie D. Williams 43.75%

Bonnie Westmoe 43.77%
Gary Hayes 56.23%

Councilmember (Ward 3)
Robert Stegman 35.04%
Timothy Del Dotterer 64.96%

Little Axe
School Bond
For 74.49%
Against 25.51%


Get The Daily Update!

Be among the first to get breaking news, weather, and general news updates from News on 6 delivered right to your inbox!

More Like This

April 7th, 2009

July 4th, 2024

April 15th, 2024

April 12th, 2024

Top Headlines

July 19th, 2024

July 19th, 2024

July 19th, 2024

July 19th, 2024